Stevie Nicks, Janet Jackson among the newest Rock Hall of Fame nominees

Finalists will be announced in December; induction ceremony is in March 2019

October 9, 2018
Stevie Nicks



The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has just revealed its nominees for the Class of 2019. On the list: Stevie Nicks (who’s already in with Fleetwood Mac but is nominated as a solo artist,) Janet Jackson, LL Cool J, Rufus and Chaka Khan . . . well let me just give you the entire list:

  • Def Leppard
  • Devo
  • Janet Jackson
  • John Prine
  • Kraftwerk
  • LL Cool J
  • MC5
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Roxy Music
  • Stevie Nicks
  • The Cure
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Rufus & Chaka Khan
  • The Zombies

If Stevie Nicks gets the nod, she'll be the first woman to be inducted to the Rock Hall two times.This seems like a great time in this country for that to happen, right?

They narrow the field down to the top five or six vote-getters, which they’ll announce in December, and the induction ceremony will be at Barclay’s Center in Brooklyn on March 29, 2019. It’ll eventually show up on HBO.

Some of these artists – like Stevie Nicks, Todd Rundgren, and Def Leppard, are being nominated for the first time; others, like LL Cool J, The Zombies, and Janet Jackson, have been nominated multiple times but not inducted.

To be eligible for the Class of 2019, an artist's first single or album had to released in 1993 or earlier.

The public gets one vote, which you can cast at the Rock Hall website here.

Personally, I'm going with Stevie Nicks, Def Leppard, Todd Rundgren, Rufus, Radiohead, and the MC5 (because I grew up in Detroit.Representin' the 313!) Place your bets now! (Or at least cast your vote.)